Data and Metadata Working Group: Members

The Citizen Science Association Data & Metadata Working Group (CSA Data & Metadata WG) is a central node in a consortium of individuals and organizations working on issues related to citizen science data, metadata, and interoperability.

The CSA Data & Metadata WG is led by two co-chairs. Governance over key goals and objectives is shared with liaisons to sister Citizen Science Associations and Standards Development Organizations (SDOs). The work of the CSA Data & Metadata WG is supported and implemented by Members at Large.


  • Greg Newman, Director,, Research Scientist, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, CSU
  • Charmel Menzel, ESRI

 Citizen Science Association Liaisons

European Citizen Science Association (ECSA). The CSA and the ECSA have an active MOU to work together on web-based services and resources including project databases, initiatives, and guidelines. In addition, ECSA supports a Projects, Data, Tools and Technology WG. ECSA liaisons:

  • Luigi Ceccaroni, ECSA Board of Directors, 1000001 Labs
  • Jaume Piera, Spanish National Research Council

Australian Citizen Science Association (ACSA). The CSA and the ACSA have an active MOU to work together on web-based services and resources including project databases, initiatives, and guidelines. ACSA liaisons:

  • Peter Brenton, Atlas of Living Australia
  • Jessie Cappadonna, ACSA Management Committee, Queensland University of Technology

Standards Development Organization (and similar) Liaisons

International Council for Science: Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) and World Data System (WDS). A joint CODAATA-WDS Task Group (TG) addresses Citizen Science and the Validation, Curation, and Management of Crowdsourced Data. CODATA-WDS liaison:

  • Caren Cooper, North Carolina State University

Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC). OGC supports a Citizen Science Domain Working Group (DWG). OGC liaison:

  • Ingo Simonis, Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC)

Biodiversity Information Standards (TDWG). TDWG supports a Citizen Science Interest Group. TDWG liaison:

  • Rob Stevenson, University of Massachusetts- Amherst

 Members at Large

  • Lucy Bastin, European Commission Joint Research Centre
  • Resa Berkeley, VI-EPSCoR- University of the Virgin Islands
  • Jonathan Brier, University of Maryland
  • Hillary Burgess, COASST/ University of Washington
  • Darlene Cavalier, Arizona State University
  • Kyle Copas, GBIF Secretariat
  • Pam DiBona, Massachusetts Bays National Estuary Program
  • Colin Ferster,
  • Claudia Goebel, Museum für Naturkunde Berlin
  • Tabitha Graves, USGS Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center
  • Tara Jo Holmberg, Northwestern Connecticut Community Colelge
  • Remi Knaff, INRA
  • Allison Lee, Scripts Institution of Oceanography, UC-San Diego
  • Russanne Low, IGES-GLOBE Observer
  • Dee McMans, MPLS
  • Pietro Michelucci, Human Computation Institute
  • Jason Miller, Chicago Botanic Garden
  • Hector Mongi, University of Dodoma
  • Na’Taki Osborne Jelks, Agnes Scott College/ West Atlanta Watershed Alliance
  • Alison Parker, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Russell Scarpino,
  • Sven Schade, European Commission Joint Research Centre
  • Justin Schell, University of Michigan
  • Jennifer Shirk, Cornell Lab of Ornithology
  • Hannah Sprecht, University of Minnesota
  • Peter Tango, USGS at the Chesapeake Bay Program Office
  • Chrisa Tsinaraki, European Commission Joint Research Centre
  • Julian Turner, CoCoRaHS/ Colorado State
  • Julie Vastine, Alliance for Aquatic Resource Monitoring
  • Heather Walsh, CSIRO
  • Deqing Wang, Beihang University
  • Andrea Wiggins, University of Nebraska Omaha
  • David Ziegler, Museum für Naturkunde Berlin
  • Georgia Basso, USFWS

Previous co-chairs

  • Anne Bowser, CSA Board of Directors, The Wilson Center
  • Justin Schell, Director, Shapiro Design Lab, University of Michigan Libraries